How do I delete a downloaded map?


Depending on map size and layer, downloaded maps can take up a lot of free space on your phone. We suggest periodically deleting saved map files that you are not frequently using. 


There are two ways to delete maps:


Delete downloaded maps:

  1. Open the AllTrails app
  2. Tap on 'Plan' on the bottom navigation bar
  3. Select 'Maps' from the tabs at the top of the screen
  4. Find the map that you'd like to delete
  5. Tap and hold on the map name
  6. Tap the 'Delete' button (trash can icon) in the upper right corner

Remove a map layer without deleting the map:

  1. Open the AllTrails app
  2. Tap on 'Plan' on the bottom navigation bar
  3. Select 'Maps' from the tabs at the top of the screen
  4. Find the map that you'd like to delete and tap to open
  5. Tap 'Download More Layers' 
  6. Tap the green icon next to the layer you want to remove
  7. Tap 'Remove' to confirm


For information on how to download maps for offline use for offline use, click here.