How do I edit a recording?


You can change the star rating, the title, the activity, the trail the recording is tied to, and the privacy setting for any of your recordings by following these steps:

Via desktop or laptop computer:

  1. Log in to your account on alltrails.com
  2. Hover over 'History' in the header and click on 'Recordings'
  3. Click on the recording that you would like to edit 
  4. Update your rating, the title, the activity, it's connection to a trail, and description and choose 'Save' 
  5. To update the trail endpoints, click on the 'Edit Endpoint' button just above your stats
  6. Drag the round black endpoint back along your recorded route to the point where you want the route to stop and click the 'Save Endpoint' button to save


  Via iPhone or Android app:

  1. Open the AllTrails app
  2. Tap on 'History' on the bottom navigation bar
  3. Select 'Recordings' from the drop-down menu (iPhone) or tabs (Android) at the top
  4. Tap on the recording that you would like to edit
  5. Tap the overflow menu (three dots) in the upper right corner and select 'Edit'
  6. Update your rating, the title, the activity, it's connection to a trail, and description


If you've accidentally driven off without stopping the recorder and need to edit your endpoint, you can easily edit the recording by following these steps:


Via desktop or laptop computer:

  1. Log in to your account on alltrails.com
  2. Hover over 'History' in the header and click on 'Recordings'
  3. Click on the recording that you would like to edit
  4. Click on the 'Edit Endpoint' button just above your stats 
  5. On the map, drag the round black endpoint back along your recorded route to the point where you want the route to stop
  6. Click the 'Save Endpoint' button to save, or 'Cancel Edit' to cancel - please note that once saved, your edits cannot be undone


For information on how to access your recordings, click here.