How do I make a recording private?


When you link your recording to a trail, it means that you are contributing to the AllTrails community by making your recorded track viewable in the Recordings section of the associated trail page. This helps other members better understand all of the various route options for a specific trail. 


However, it is also possible to make a specific recording private so that it's only visible to you. 


Via alltrails.com:

  1. Log in to your account using a desktop or laptop computer (you can log in here)

  2. Hover over History in the header and click on Recordings (or click here)

  3. Click on the recording that you would like to edit

  4. Click on the Edit link below the recording name, to the right of the stars

  5. Check the box next to 'Make this track private' and click Update


On iOS/Android:

  1. Tap on History in the bottom navigation bar

  2. Select Recordings from the top menu

  3. Tap on the recording that you would like to edit

  4. Tap the Action Button in the upper right corner and from the menu select Edit

  5. Swipe the Private toggle to the right so that the slider appears green - this means that your track is now set to private


If you'd like to learn more about how to make your AllTrails profile private, which will make all of your recordings completely hidden from everyone, please click here: http://support.alltrails.com/solution/articles/25209-making-your-profile-private